Anime.. Buffy the Vampire Slayer.. Charmed.. Harry Potter.. House of Night.. Manga.. The Morganville Vampires.. The Night World.. The Twilight Saga.. True Blood.. Vampire Academy.. Vampire Diaries..
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 LJ Smith got fired....

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Haily_Fangs

avatar

Posts : 378
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 27
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: LJ Smith got fired....   Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:10 pm

Quote :
Thank you, but don't boycott

First, I want to thank my readers for all their messages of support. I’ve gotten far too many emails to answer, and I really appreciate the kindness and emotional sustenance you’ve given to me at this difficult time.

Second, if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize. I really wasn’t looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.

Third, and most importantly, I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone. It just doesn’t make sense. Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books. (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.) Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.

Thanks again to all the fans who have shown loving and loyal kindness to me.

source: L. J. Smith's blog
____________________________________

There had been a few rumors here and there about it, but nobody was sure if it was true or not. I didn't want to post this before being sure of the reality of those rumors. So now we know that L. J. Smith was hired by Alloy Entertainment and Harper Teen to write The Vampire Diaries. They gave the basic idea, but she did all the work. I find it truly revolting from them to fire her and I can assure that Midnight will be the last book I read fromt the serie.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kawaii-star
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 2540
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 31
Location : London, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:26 pm

Ooh they fired her!! Why though? I always see her books in the book charts... so she must be selling a lot of them right?
Seems odd! :-/ xxx

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
*kawaii**fairy*
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 5535
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 32
Location : Cheltenham, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 pm

That's awful, especially a they have made such a successful series from it, I just don't see the point in hiring another writer when it will probably be completely different?! How very weird!

_________________
♥️ & Fairydust!

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://kawaiicoven.forumtwilight.com
kawaii-star
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 2540
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 31
Location : London, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:11 pm

I just don't get why they did it? xx

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kawaii-star
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 2540
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 31
Location : London, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:22 pm

Just had a look online and APPARANTLY it's because LJ Smith wanted the book to go in a diff direction, exlporing more with Elena & Damon and Damon & Bonnie, but Harper wanted it to be strictly Elena and Stefan.

How dull!

And I think its quite sad really, shes been writing those books for so long! :-/ xxx

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
*kawaii**fairy*
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 5535
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 32
Location : Cheltenham, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:53 am

it is very wrong, although I don't rate her as a writer, I don't see how they can decide the direction of the books? They're publishers... Very frustrating x

_________________
♥️ & Fairydust!

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://kawaiicoven.forumtwilight.com
Haily_Fangs

avatar

Posts : 378
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 27
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:23 pm

*kawaii**fairy* wrote:
it is very wrong, although I don't rate her as a writer, I don't see how they can decide the direction of the books? They're publishers... Very frustrating x

It's because they hired her to write the books in the first place. If it was her original idea, they couldn't do that, but because it was a contract she did for them, they have all the rights over the book and what she can or can't write.

Apparently, it wasn't just about the EndGame couple. They didn't like the way she was writting anymore and the direction she used along with the temporal inconsistencies were other reasons for them to fire her (only writting what I read about it, I don't exactly know what is and isn't true about the reasons of her being fired)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
*kawaii**fairy*
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 5535
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 32
Location : Cheltenham, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sun Mar 06, 2011 3:26 pm

ah ok, so that makes things completely different, and i guess i can see where they are coming from, because we both have seen differences in the books and how they jump in time, and if i hired someone to write books for me, i wouldnt want things like that happening either. it is a shame for her though, must also be slightly embarrassing!

_________________
♥️ & Fairydust!

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://kawaiicoven.forumtwilight.com
Rhinoa



Posts : 10
Join date : 2011-03-27

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:08 pm

That's a shame. I've only read the first four and after not being massively impressed with the first one, they got much better. I guess if it was their concept and idea they can do what they like. Seems a bit drastic though.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
*kawaii**fairy*
Volturi
avatar

Posts : 5535
Join date : 2009-10-17
Age : 32
Location : Cheltenham, UK

PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:27 am

it does, im sure if the tv programme hadnt been so popular they would have put up with it and not fired her, but i guess because they have such a following now, more people must be reading the books and they want the story to end right... sucks for her though!

_________________
♥️ & Fairydust!

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://kawaiicoven.forumtwilight.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: LJ Smith got fired....   

Back to top Go down
 
LJ Smith got fired....
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Kawaii Coven :: .the.vampire.diaries. :: .books.-
Jump to: